Minor Arcana: Aces

See the Eight Coin’s Tarot Deck

Like the birth of all things, to start off the Tarot Card meanings on Tarot Emporium, I will cover the Aces of the minor arcana. The minor arcana are arranged into four suits: Wands, Pentacles, Cups and Swords. Each suit has fourteen cards, from Ace to Ten, including four court cards: Page, Knight, Queen and King.

Represented by the number 1 of each suit, Aces can be the start, potential, or new beginning of a journey filled with potential and optimism. It simply could mean potential of something to happen next, like a new career path, relationship or project. It takes courage, hard work and dedication to see this energy change into something you create, behold or manifest since their energy is amorphous and untested. Yes, there is potential but it takes you to create what you truly want.

“Aces relate to the Fool, and to some extent, the Pages, being concerned with new beginnings and immaturity. The Ace can be viewed as one-dimensional representation of the story of each suit. It holds all the qualities and energies of its designation in potential. The Ace steps forward and says, ‘Once upon a time…’. It’s your choice whether to let its energy move you forward or backward on your path, or not to move at all. There’s simply no way of knowing how it will turn out in the end.” (Lorelei, 2004)

Quick Reference Meanings (Keywords)

Ace of Cups

Ace of Pentacles

Ace of Swords

Ace of Wands

Love, fertility, beginnings Money, success, beginnings Success, thought, intellect News, male fertility, inspiration, beginnings


Stay tuned, we will dive into each Ace card in the minor arcana….




Tarot Life Planner: Change Your Destiny and Enrich Your Life by Lady Lorelei